Vedic Astrology – An Introduction to the Vedic Astrology and Naksatras

Is Vedic astrology accurate?

Vedic Astrology Chart

An Introduction to the Vedic Astrology and Nakshatras

According to Indian astrological science, they believed that the motions of planets and their respective positions had a significant influence on humans who existed on Earth. Well, this is a theory that has been there for thousands of years now. During this time, Vedic astrology was reliant on planetary movements and positioning concerning the stars. Years later, Vedic astrology began to include zodiac signs. Also, 12 zodiac signs are present in Vedic Astrology same as Western Astrology. These 12 zodiac signs (Raashi) are:

12 Raashi (Zodiac Signs)

  1. Mesha (Aries)
    Symbol: ♈ | Meaning: Ram
  2. Vrishabha (Taurus)
    Symbol: ♉ | Meaning: Bull
  3. Mithuna (Gemini)
    Symbol: ♊ | Meaning: Twins
  4. Karka (Cancer)
    Symbol: ♋ | Meaning: Crab
  5. Simha (Leo)
    Symbol: ♌ | Meaning: Lion
  6. Kanya (Virgo)
    Symbol: ♍ | Meaning: Virgin Girl
  7. Tula (Libra)
    Symbol: ♎ | Meaning: Balance
  8. Vrischika (Scorpio)
    Symbol: ♏ | Meaning: Scorpion
  9. Dhanusa (Sagittarius)
    Symbol: ♐ | Meaning: Bow and Arrow
  10. Makara (Capricorn)
    Symbol: ♑ | Meaning: Sea Monster
  11. Kumbha (Aquarius)
    Symbol: ♒ | Meaning: Water-Pourer
  12. Mina (Pisces)
    Symbol: ♓ | Meaning: Fishes


Therefore, there are 27 constellations (Nakshatras) that make up this unique astrology. In addition to this, there are 12 houses and nine planets. So these astrological houses and planets are used to indicate a specific aspect of the lives of human beings. Also subject to the time of birth, the 12 different Vedic zodiac signs would be distributed among the 12 houses and nine planets mentioned above. The 27 constellations/signs are the main reason why Vedic astrology is regarded as different from Western Astrology which has only 12 signs. So these 27 constellations or Nakshatra include:

27 Nakshatras

  1. Asvini
  2. Bharani
  3. Krittika
  4. Rohini
  5. Mrigashira
  6. Ardra
  7. Punarvasu
  8. Pusya
  9. Aslesha
  10. Magha
  11. Purva Phalguni
  12. Uttara Phalguni
  13. Hasta
  14. Chitra
  15. Swati
  16. Visakha
  17. Anuradha
  18. Jyestha
  19. Moola
  20. Poorva Shadha
  21. Uttara Shadha
  22. Sharavan
  23. Dhanishta
  24. Satbhij
  25. Poorva Bhadrapada
  26. Uttara Bhadrapada
  27. Revati

Read Also:

Western Astrology

Vedic Astrology

Chinese Astrology

Mayan Astrology

Egyptian Astrology

Australian Astrology

Native American Astrology

Greek Astrology

Roman Astrology

Japanese Astrology

Tibetan Astrology

Indonesian Astrology

Balinese Astrology

Arabic Astrology

Iranian Astrology

Aztec Astrology

Burmese Astrology

What do you think?

6 Points

Leave a Reply


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *